Arthrite psoriasique vs polyarthrite rhumatoïde : comprendre les différences

Doigts atteints d'arthrite psoriasique

Le rhumatisme psoriasique et la polyarthrite rhumatoïde sont deux types d’arthrite différents. Ces deux éléments sont tous deux liés au fait que le système immunitaire de notre corps perturbe et attaque nos tissus sains, mais ils présentent des différences logiques. Découvrons les différences entre le rhumatisme psoriasique et la polyarthrite rhumatoïde et découvrons des moyens de gérer la douleur et l'inflammation qu'ils provoquent.

Arthrite psoriasique vs polyarthrite rhumatoïde

Qu’est-ce que le rhumatisme psoriasique ?

Psoriasis des mains et rhumatisme psoriasique des doigts ; petit doigt déformé

Le rhumatisme psoriasique touche les personnes qui ont un problème de peau appelé psoriasis. Cela affecte les articulations et les endroits où les muscles se connectent aux os. Ceux-ci provoquent des douleurs, des gonflements et des raideurs dans les zones touchées, comme les semelles, les talons et les coudes.

Le rhumatisme psoriasique affecte également les doigts, les rendant gonflés comme des saucisses. Cela rend les ongles écaillés ou piqués et peut même provoquer la séparation de l'ongle du lit de l'ongle. De plus, il provoque des douleurs dans le bas du dos car il affecte les os du dos.

Il est important de noter que les poussées de rhumatisme psoriasique peuvent s’accompagner d’une poussée de psoriasis et que ce type d’arthrite touche n’importe quelle partie du corps de manière asymétrique (pas des deux côtés). 

Qu’est-ce que la polyarthrite rhumatoïde ?

La main d'une femme déformée à cause de la polyarthrite rhumatoïde

La polyarthrite rhumatoïde touche la muqueuse des articulations, provoquant les mêmes douleurs, gonflements et raideurs que le rhumatisme psoriasique. Si vous ne le traitez pas, cela pourrait modifier la forme de vos articulations et les rendre moins performantes.

Ce type d’arthrite commence dans des articulations plus petites comme les orteils et les doigts et peut affecter d’autres articulations avec le temps. La situation est pire le matin après le réveil, les articulations étant plus raides. Elle peut également affecter le cou ou la base du crâne, entraînant une douleur lancinante ou sourde dans ladite zone.

Contrairement au rhumatisme psoriasique, la polyarthrite rhumatoïde touche les mêmes articulations des deux côtés du corps (symétriques). Cela peut également provoquer de la fatigue, de la fièvre et même une perte de poids.

Voir connexe : Produits de soins de la peau canadiens pour la gestion de la douleur

Diagnostic et traitement

Un rhumatologue montrant un scanner de la partie inférieure du corps à une femme âgée

Pour obtenir un diagnostic précis si vous souffrez de rhumatisme psoriasique, de polyarthrite rhumatoïde ou d'autres types d'arthrite, consultez un médecin spécialisé en rhumatologie. Le diagnostic peut impliquer d’obtenir vos taux de facteur rhumatoïde et vos anticorps CCP (peptide citrulliné cyclique). Des niveaux élevés de ceux-ci dans le corps indiquent une polyarthrite rhumatoïde.

Le traitement consiste à contrôler l’inflammation dans les zones touchées. Les options de traitement comprennent les anti-inflammatoires non stéroïdiens (AINS), les compresses chaudes et froides, les massages et les analgésiques. Cependant, vous pourriez également trouver un certain soulagement grâce à des remèdes comme les huiles essentielles.

À la recherche de réconfort dans le baume apaisant Juggernaut de CANhaveTODAY

Juggernaut apaisant Nouvelle photo de produit

Essential oils from frankincense, arnica, and cypress have shown potential in managing pain and inflammation. CANhaveTODAY’s Soothing Juggernaut salve is a great example of a product that uses these benefit, incorporating frankincense, arnica, and cypress essential oils in one powerful salve. Soothing Juggernaut aims to soothe aches and reduce inflammation, making it potentially helpful in managing symptoms related to psoriatic arthritis and rheumatoid arthritis. A quick note: This product contains Sodium borate. The government of Canada does not recommend the use of products containing Sodium borate on open wounds, cuts, or abrasions.

Huile essentielle d'encens

Huile d'encens a été traditionnellement utilisé pour son anti-inflammatoire et effets analgésiques. Son principal composant actif, acide boswellique, s’est avéré réduire la production de produits chimiques responsables de l’inflammation. Cela peut donc aider à réduire l’enflure et la douleur.

Huile essentielle d'arnica

L'huile d'arnica est dérivée des fleurs d'arnica des montagnes et contient propriétés anti-inflammatoires et analgésiques. On pense, et les preuves le suggèrent, que Arnica Montana aide à gérer la douleur, à réduire l’enflure et à atténuer l’inflammation.

Huile essentielle de cyprès

L'huile de cyprès est populaire pour ses propriétés antimicrobiennes, mais elle est également idéale pour réduire l'inflammation et aider soulager la douleur. Ces propriétés pourraient être utiles pour apporter du confort aux articulations touchées par l’arthrite.

Comme toujours, même si Soothing Juggernaut peut apporter un soulagement à votre inconfort, il est important de consulter un expert en soins de santé lorsque vous introduisez de nouveaux produits dans votre programme de bien-être.

Voir connexe : Huiles essentielles dans les soins naturels de la peau

Comprendre les types d’arthrite et en apprendre davantage sur les huiles essentielles

Effets de l'arthrite, douleur au genou

Comprendre les différences entre le rhumatisme psoriasique et la polyarthrite rhumatoïde est essentiel pour apprendre à vivre avec ces maladies et rechercher un traitement efficace. Bien que les deux types d’arthrite soient similaires, chacun affecte différentes zones du corps, entraînant divers symptômes et complications potentielles.

Les huiles essentielles, avec leurs propriétés uniques, offrent une approche complémentaire possible aux traitements traditionnels de l’arthrite. Des huiles comme celles de l'encens, de l'arnica et du cyprès peuvent aider à gérer l'inconfort lié à l'arthrite, et CANhaveTODAY's Mastodonte apaisant le baume contient ces huiles essentielles. Bien que naturels, restez prudent et consultez un médecin pour vous assurer qu’ils conviennent à votre état.

FAQ

Quelle est la différence entre le rhumatisme psoriasique et la polyarthrite rhumatoïde ?

La principale différence réside dans leurs zones d’action dans le corps. Le rhumatisme psoriasique affecte les articulations et les enthèses (zones où les muscles ou les ligaments s'attachent aux os) et survient de manière asymétrique. En revanche, la polyarthrite rhumatoïde affecte spécifiquement la muqueuse des articulations et survient de manière symétrique (des deux côtés du corps, dans les mêmes articulations).

Les huiles essentielles peuvent-elles aider à gérer les symptômes de l’arthrite ?

Les huiles essentielles comme l'encens, l'arnica et le cyprès peuvent aider à gérer l'inconfort lié à l'arthrite. Ils possèdent des propriétés qui peuvent potentiellement aider à réduire l’enflure, la douleur et la raideur.

Dans quelle mesure est-il sécuritaire d’utiliser des huiles essentielles contre l’arthrite ou le psoriasis ?

Même si les huiles essentielles peuvent soulager l’inconfort, elles doivent être utilisées avec prudence. Assurez-vous toujours d’une dilution appropriée pour la sécurité de la peau et consultez un professionnel de la santé pour obtenir des conseils sur leur utilisation.

Ressources associées

Psoriatic Arthritis vs Rheumatoid Arthritis: Understanding the Differences

Fingers with psoriatic arthritis

Psoriatic arthritis and rheumatoid arthritis are two different types of arthritis. These two are both connected to our body’s immune system messing up and attacking our healthy tissues instead, but they have differences that make sense. Let’s find out the differences between psoriatic arthritis vs. rheumatoid arthritis and discover ways to manage the pain and inflammation they cause.

Psoriatic arthritis vs. rheumatoid arthritis

What is psoriatic arthritis?

Hand psoriasis and psoriatic arthritis in fingers; deformed pinky finger

Psoriatic arthritis happens to people who have a skin problem called psoriasis. It affects the joints and spots where muscles connect to the bones. These give people aches, swelling, and stiffness in affected areas, like the soles, heels, and elbows.

Psoriatic arthritis also affects the fingers, making them swollen like sausages. It makes the nails flaky or pitting and might even cause the nail to separate from the nailbed. Additionally, it causes lower back pain as it affects the bones of the back.

It is important to note that psoriatic arthritis flare-ups can be accompanied by a psoriasis flare-up and that this type of arthritis affects any part of the body asymmetrically (not on both sides). 

What is rheumatoid arthritis?

A woman's hand deformed from rheumatoid arthritis

Rheumatoid arthritis hits the lining of the joints, causing the same aches, swelling, and stiffness as psoriatic arthritis. If you leave it untreated, it could change the shape of your joints and make them work less well.

This type of arthritis starts in smaller joints like the toes and fingers and can affect other joints as time passes. It is worse in the morning after waking up, with the joints feeling stiffer. It can also affect the neck or the base of the skull, resulting in a throbbing or dull ache in the said area.

Unlike psoriatic arthritis, rheumatoid arthritis affects the same joints on both sides of the body (symmetric).  It can also cause fatigue, fever, and even weight loss.

See related: Canadian skin care products for pain management

Diagnosis and treatment

A rheumatologist showing a scan of the lower part of the body to an elderly woman

To get an accurate diagnosis of whether you have psoriatic arthritis, rheumatoid arthritis, or other types of arthritis, consult a doctor specializing in rheumatology. Diagnosis can involve getting your rheumatoid factor levels and CCP (cyclic citrullinated peptide) antibodies. High levels of these in the body indicated rheumatoid arthritis.

Treatment involves controlling the inflammation in the affected areas. Treatment options include nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAIDs), hot and cold compresses, massage, and pain relievers. However, you might also find some relief from remedies like essential oils.

Seeking comfort in CANhaveTODAY’s Soothing Juggernaut Salve

Soothing Juggernaut New Product Photo

Essential oils from frankincense, arnica, and cypress have shown potential in managing pain and inflammation. CANhaveTODAY’s Soothing Juggernaut salve is a great example of a product that uses these benefit, incorporating frankincense, arnica, and cypress essential oils in one powerful salve. Soothing Juggernaut aims to soothe aches and reduce inflammation, making it potentially helpful in managing symptoms related to psoriatic arthritis and rheumatoid arthritis. A quick note: This product contains Sodium borate. The government of Canada does not recommend the use of products containing Sodium borate on open wounds, cuts, or abrasions.

Frankincense essential oil

Frankincense oil has been traditionally used for its anti-inflammatory and analgesic effects. Its primary active component, boswellic acid, has been found to reduce the production of chemicals that cause inflammation. It, therefore, can help in the reduction of swelling and pain.

Arnica essential oil

Arnica oil is derived from the mountain arnica flowers and contains anti-inflammatory and analgesic properties. It is believed, and evidence suggests, that Arnica montana helps with pain management, swelling reduction, and inflammation alleviation.

Cypress essential oil

Cypress oil is popular for its antimicrobial properties, but it is also great for reducing inflammation and helping ease pain. These properties might be helpful in giving comfort to the joints affected by arthritis.

As always, while Soothing Juggernaut may offer relief to your discomfort, it is important to consult a healthcare expert when introducing new products into your wellness regimen.

See related: Essential Oils in Natural Skin care

Understanding Arthritis Types and Learning About Essential Oils

Effects of arthritis, pain on the knee

Understanding the differences between psoriatic arthritis vs. rheumatoid arthritis is vital for learning how to live with these conditions and seeking effective treatment. While both types of arthritis are similar, each affects different areas of the body, leading to a variety of symptoms and potential complications.

Essential oils, with their unique properties, offer a possible complementary approach to traditional arthritis treatments. Oils like those from frankincense, arnica, and cypress may assist in managing arthritis-related discomfort, and CANhaveTODAY’s Soothing Juggernaut salve features these essential oils. Though natural, maintain caution and consult with a doctor to make sure that they are suitable for your condition.

FAQ

What is the difference between psoriatic arthritis vs. rheumatoid arthritis?

The primary difference lies in their areas of effect in the body. Psoriatic arthritis affects the joints and entheses (areas where muscles or ligaments attach to bones) and occurs asymmetrically. On the other hand, rheumatoid arthritis specifically impacts the lining of the joints and occurs symmetrically (in both sides of the body in the same joints).

Can essential oils help manage arthritis symptoms?

Essential oils like frankincense, arnica, and cypress may help manage arthritis-related discomfort. They possess properties that can potentially help reduce swelling, pain, and stiffness.

How safe is it to use essential oils for arthritis or psoriasis?

While essential oils may offer relief from discomfort, they should be used with caution. Always ensure proper dilution for skin safety, and consult with a healthcare professional for guidance on their use.

Related resources